Barnes Junior School

Proud to learn, proud to achieve


The Board of Governors have an important strategic role in our school.  They support us in setting our vision and ethos and help us decide on our strategic direction.  The Board also hold the school to account with regards to pupil and staff performance and oversee the financial and resource management of the school.  The Board of Governors has two sub committees - Finance and Resources Committee and Educational Standards Committee.


Chair of Governors:  Pauline Forster 

Co-opted Governors:

Julie Thompson

Julie Ramsey

2 Vacancies

Parent Governors: 

Joanne Hoyle

Mr. Chris Poulton

Katy Wood

Tamzin George

Local Authority Governor:

Joanne Lowes (Vice Chair)

Staff Governor: 

Simon Ward (Headteacher)

Sarah Humble


Deputy Head: Natalie Ward

School Business Manager: Camille Burdon


The Chair of Governors can be contacted via email: 

Register of Pecuniary and Business Interests

Governors must declare any relevant business interests as well as the details of any other educational establishments they govern.  The register must also set out any relationships between governors and members of the school staff including spouses, partners and relatives.  

The school is required to maintain a similar register of staff interests that should also be reviewed annually – as specified in the NCC Code of Conduct.  Staff had previously been included with the governor’s declarations but in light of the governing body register of interests being required to be published on the school web site, a separate register is held in school. Staff governors are included on both registers.

Register of Pecuniary Interest - Governors 2023


As a school we recognise that a diversity of thought, voices and perspectives is essential to good governance and the effective running of any organisation. We collect diversity information from our governors and, depending on current data, can use this to:

  • target recruitment to address gaps in experience and diversity
  • develop and adapt board practices to ensure full participation
  • prioritise training and awareness-raising in identified areas
  • address potential 'blind spots' through seeking wider advice and perspectives on current and upcoming opportunities, challenges and risks.

We are unable to publish specific information, as it would mean that individual members of our governing body are identifiable.